Your Reading List

Marc Carere acclaimed as Sheep Farmers of Ontario chair

Heather Little and John Hemsted are the new vice-chairs of the organization

Ontario Sheep Farmers elected its officers for 2018-19 and recognized the achievements of some of its members at its recent annual general meeting in Alliston.

District 7 director Marc Carere was acclaimed as chair. Carere, his wife Helen and son Matt operate Ballinahistle Farms, a large commercial ewe flock and lamb feedlot. He replaces Rob Scott as chair of the board.

District 5 director Heather Little was acclaimed as first vice-chair. Little along with her husband Kevin and their children have a commercial flock near Grand Valley.

Related Articles

District 6 director John Hemsted was acclaimed as second vice-chair. Hemsted and his wife Josephine own and operate Sunningdale Farms which has a commercial ewe flock as well as a flock of purebred British milk sheep.

Ed Post from Parkhill joins the Ontario Sheep Farmers board as a director for District 1. Post, along with his wife Linda, operates Willow Creek Sheep & Cattle which has a commercial sheep flock along with a small cow-calf operation and tree fruit production.

Director positions for Districts 4 and 10 remain vacant. Other directors are Jay Lewis, District 2; Sandi Brock, District 3; Gary Fox, District 8; Chris Moore, District 9 and Colleen Alloi, District 11.

Kuiperij named Outstanding Shepherd

Dick Kuiperij of Woodville was awarded the 2018 Outstanding Shepherd Award. He and his wife Marilyn, have been in the Ontario sheep industry for over 30 years, using Rideau Arcott and Canada Arcott genetics in their Eden Lane flock.

Recently retired Christopher Kennedy was recognized for his contributions to Ontario’s sheep industry as the recipient of the 2018 Long Service Award. Kennedy spent over 40 years in Ontario’s sheep industry, serving in many different leadership roles and capacities throughout that time, including chair of the OSF board in 2010-11.

Heather Melinyshyn of Seeley’s Bay is the winner of the inaugural Industry Leader Award. She is currently a veterinary student at the Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph with an interest in small ruminant veterinary medicine. Melinyshyn received a $500 cash award for post graduate or industry education opportunities.

This year’s undergraduate scholarship winner of $500 is Allison Brown from Woodville. Brown is currently enrolled in the Bachelor of Science in Agriculture program at the University of Guelph, majoring in animal science.

Rodney Jones of Crimson Farm from the Township of Scugog in Durham Region received the 2018 Ontario Sheep Pasture Award of $500 and a bag of forage seed recognizing his environmental and pasture improvements and management.

About the author



Stories from our other publications