Byrne elected to chair GFO board

Essex farmer has been a board member for six years

Grain Farmers of Ontario has elected Brendan Byrne as its new chair of the board of directors.

Related Articles

Byrne is the District Director for District 1 (Essex) and has served on the Board since 2015. He farms with his father and family in Essex County.

Why it matters: Grain Farmers of Ontario is the largest farmer commodity board in Ontario.

Brendan Byrne, chair of Grain Farmers of Ontario. photo: Photo: Grain Farmers of Ontario

“I’m honoured to be elected the next chair of the Grain Farmers of Ontario board of directors and commit to building upon this organization’s 10 years of being a dedicated, strong voice in agriculture,” he said.

“I look forward to advocating for the broad, varied spectrum of all of our farmer-members to ensure they have opportunities to build successful family businesses in Ontario that produce high-quality, locally grown grains that are nutritious and affordable across our province, nation and internationally,” said Byrne.

Grain Farmers of Ontario also has a new executive committee of the board. Along with Byrne, Jeff Harrison, director for District 12 (Durham, Northumberland, Kawartha, Peterborough, Hastings) and Scott Persall, director for District 5 (Elgin and Norfolk) will serve as vice chairs, and Josh Boersen, director for District 9 (Perth) is the executive member.

Byrne replaces Markus Haerle who served as chair of the board for three years.

About the author



Stories from our other publications